Principles and activity of SEIS, National Focal Points


National Focal Points:

Gayane Shahnazaryan: "Environmental Monitoring and Information Center" SNCO of the Ministry of Environment

Nelli Baghdasaryan:  Statistical Committee of the Republic of Armenia

Yurik Poghosyan`  National SEIS Assistant


 "Cook book" : Designed for practitioners in Enviromental information managment

SEIS stands for the Shared Environmental Information System (SEIS) is a collaborative approach aiming to organise environmental information based on key principles:
Information should be:

  1. Managed as close as possible to its source.
  2. Collected once and shared with others for many purposes.
  3. Readily available to easily fulfil reporting obligations.
  4. Easily accessible to all users.
  5. Accessible to enable comparisons at the appropriate geographical scale and the participation of citizens.
  6. Fully available to the general public and at national level in the relevant national language(s).
  7. Supported through common, free, open software standards.

SEIS is also about a shift in approach, from individual countries or regions reporting data to specific international organisations, to creating online systems with services that make information available for multiple users — both people and machines. Such a shift happens in a stepwise matter, ensuring that SEIS remains a driver for access to environmental information and its integration in the knowledge-based economy.
The implementation of SEIS is underpinned by three main pillars:

  • Cooperation: building partnerships between the providers and users of data and information;
  • Content: generating policy-relevant and comparable information;
  • Infrastructure: using shared and modern web-based information and communication technologies.