RA Minister of Nature Protection received Aarhus Compliance Committee Chair


RA Minister of Nature Protection Aramayis Grigoryan received Aarhus Compliance Committee ChairProfessor Jonas Ebbesson.

Minister Grigoryan welcoming the guests and appreciating the activities directed to raise the awareness of Aarhus Convention in improving national legislation and environmental problems, stated, that Armenia has undertaken steps to implement the responsibilities undertaken by the Republic of Armenia under Aarhus Convention.

In his turn Mr Ebbesson thanking for the reception, appreciated the efforts of Armenia to comply with the thesis of the convention, particularly emphasizing the amendments on the law about Environmental Impact Assessment regarding information accessibility and provision of public participation in procedural right.

Reflecting upon the 6th meeting of Aarhus Convention parties in 2017, where Armenia will submit its 5th national report, Mr Ebbesson hoped that Armenian will realize the responsibilities in due manner.


Minister Grigoryan assured that measures will be undertaken to comply with the requirements within reasonable time.

At the end of the meeting the parties expressed the willingness to actively collaborate.